Family · Motherhood · Relationships

April is Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Month

Every 30 minutes, a child is abused
or neglected in my home state of Ohio.

When I read the above statistic, I was sickened by it. All I can think next is ‘how’? How on earth could a mother or father allow such a disturbing act to happen to their child or perform it themselves? How?b91892cd-ac82-42a7-98ea-77e3e3636276

I love my daughter so much. The idea that there are children out there that do not receive the same amount of love and attention that my baby does makes me sad. Then when it goes deeper to say that every so many minutes a child is hurt, breaks…my…heart. No one will every lay a hand on my child. Ever, ever, ever. No child should fear being physically hurt, emotionally scarred, mentally weakened by words, discriminated against, or any negative experience that these poor children suffer through. I can’t help but feel totally compelled to help. Now that I got out my emotional mommy moment, I wanted to know what I could do to help.

The month of April is
Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Month“.

I followed the link I saw on a photo which was posted on Facebook to find out more. To raise awareness, post a photo on social media with the hashtag #InTheNext30Minutes. The hope is “to raise awareness that all Ohioans can prevent child abuse and neglect #InTheNext30Minutes through simple acts of kindness. We also encourage you to tag your friends and ask them to pledge their support of families using #InTheNext30Minutes on social media within 30 minutes of your post!”

Post a photo of you and your little ones! Raise awareness for child abuse and neglect. All children deserve constant love and understanding.

17797463_1490761944281400_418710508_o.jpg#InTheNext30Minutes

Love,
Alison

Leave a Reply

