Motherhood

5 Years: A Haunting & A Blessing. 

Oh, how Facebook reminds us of our brightest and darkest days. This was the day that I was diagnosed with cancer. I remember it like it was yesterday.  But it feels like a lifetime ago. 

I recall exactly the way I felt. Even the memory of how it felt to face my own mortality for the first time sends a surge right through me. My nerves begin to quake and my heart rate increase. It is hard to believe that a physiological response happens after all this time has passed. 

My world was turned upside down, but I since have healed of mind and body and moved forward. I have a beautiful baby girl Lailah, who is fifteen months old already; a loving, hard-working, and intelligent husband Eric, who is my rock and my very best friend. We are currently saving for the home we have always wanted, in the best school district in the area. I’m a stay at home mom who is following her passions in life; cooking, writing, photography, momming, and more. Time looks good on me, to say the least. 

My story is a long one, but I’m ready to share it all in time. I’m ready to begin opening up some of the boxes buried deep within my psychological closet. I hope to help others, moms or not, with my incredibly true struggle and how I overcame the biggest obstacles in my life. 

I never knew that five years ago would be the beginning of the rest of my life. I would be changed forever because of this day. I would never have been a woman that I am today; I would never have been the compassionate and loving mother and wife today; without the haunting and blessing that I consider my cancer diagnosis to be. 

Thank you for reading and walking beside me as I open up the inner workings of how my life changed when I was diagnosed and how it made me a better person and still helps me today as a mother. 

Love, Alison

– What are some you your greatest challenges that got you to where you are in life right now? And how of those helped you become a mom?

2 thoughts on “5 Years: A Haunting & A Blessing. 

  1. Hey, I’m right there with you lovely lady! I have had a similar experience. I’m 8 years free from Hodgkins Lymphoma, and 6 months ago became the mother to a beautiful baby boy. Cancer has changed the way I view the world massively, and I think more than anything, it has taught me gratitude for all the things that are truly important in life. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

